Forthcoming Events

02.09.2019 - 06.09.2019, Centro Congressi Abruzzo Berti Hotels", Silvi Marina, Pescara, Italy
02.09.2019 - 06.09.2019, Rostock, Germany

Ultrafast X-ray Science at the European XFEL and European Synchrotron (ESRF)

Date Mo, 04.03.2019 - Di, 05.03.2019
Location ESRF, Grenoble, France
Program The workshop will review the science and instrumentation on two complementary beamlines: the Femtosecond X-ray Experiments (FXE) beamline at the European XFEL and ID09, the beamline for Structural Dynamics at the ESRF. On both beamlines, ultrafast processes are initiated by laser pulses and the evolving structures are probed by either diffraction, scattering or spectroscopy. The femtosecond XFEL pulse allows probing primary reactions such as bond breakage/formation, electron transfer, coherent vibrations etc on time scales down to 10-100 fs. The picosecond synchrotron pulse, on the other hand, is used for probing secondary intermediate states, from 100 picoseconds to milliseconds, at higher spatial resolution, lower radiation damage and over a wider energy range.

The workshop will discuss the synergy and complementarity between the beamlines and evaluate future needs for ultrafast experiments in Europe in particular.

If you are interested in attending the workshop, please follow the registration instructions here:

The number of participant is limited to 60.

Main topics:

Chemical reactions in solution
Structural dynamics of proteins
Protein serial crystallography
Ultrafast phenomena in soft matter
Ultrafast surface deformations in solids
Dynamic pulse compression
Time-resolved Wide-Angle X-ray Scattering
X-ray emission spectroscopy
Beamline instrumentation
The following speakers have confirmed:

Serguei Molodtsov, Facility talk, (EuXFEL, D)
Christian Bressler (FXE, EuXFEL, D)
Michael Wulff (ID09, ESRF, F)
Martin Meedom Nielsen (DTU, physical chemistry, DK
Kristoffer Haldrup (DTU, physical chemistry, DK)
Richard Neutze (Gothenburg, biology, chemistry, S)
Matteo Levantino (ID09, ESRF, biology, F)
Anton Plech (KIT, Karlsruhe, Physics, D)
Sebastien Westenhoff (Gothenburg, biology, chemistry, S)
Peter Gaal (Uni Hamburg, physics, D)
Qingyu Kong (Soleil, chemistry, F)
Gregory Smolentsev (chemistry, Villigen, CH)
Majed Chergui (chemistry, Lausanne, CH)
Shin-ichi Adachi (chemistry, PF, Tsukuba, J)
Charles Pepin (high pressure physics, DAM/CEA, F)
Martin Weik (biology, IBS, Grenoble, F)
Thomas Penfold (theory, Newcastle, UK)
Maciej Lorenc, (physics, CNRS, Rennes, F)
Download (74 KB)
(74 KB)
Link ESRF Workshop - Registration
NCCR MUST Office : ETHZ IQE/ULP-HPT H3 | Auguste-Piccard-Hof 1 | 8093 Zurich | E-Mail | +41 44 633 36 02
The National Centres of Competence in Research (NCCR) are a research instrument of the Swiss National Science Foundation