Forthcoming Events

02.06.2019 - 06.06.2019, Centro Congressi Abruzzo Berti Hotels", Silvi Marina (TE), Italy
17.06.2019 - 21.06.2019, Center for Free-Electron Laser Science (CFEL) at DESY , Hamburg, Germany
21.06.2019 - 26.06.2019, University of Colorado, Boulder, USA


New scientific highlights- by MUST PIs Fabrizio Carbone and Ursula Keller (with Sasha Landsman and Cornelia Hofmann)
Proof of concept ERC Grant for Rachel Grange Automated super-resolution polarimetric nonlinear microscope (PolarNon)
Majed Chergui wins RSC Liversidge Award from the Royal Society of Chemistry
New scientific highlights- by MUST PIs Peter Hamm, Majed Chergui, Urs Staub, Steve Johnson, Jörg Standfuss and Gebhard Schertler
The FP-RESOMUS Grant Agreement- now signed by the ETH Zürich and the European Commission
Cluster of Excellence RESOLV extended- our partner in FP-RESOMUS and the biannual Science and Gender Meetings

Principal Investigators

Institute  Principal Investigator    Research topic  
MUST PIs    
ETHZ Ursula Keller (Director)
Jeremy Richardson
Hans Jakob Wörner
Manfred Fiebig
Ruth Signorell
Ultrafast Laser Physics
Simulating ultrafast processes in molecular systems
Ultrafast Spectroscopy and Attosecond Science
Multifunctional ferroic materials
Aerosols and Nanoscience
ETHZ/PSI Steve Johnson Ultrafast Dynamics
UniBE  Thomas Feurer (Co-Director)
Andrea Cannizzo
Natalie Banerji

Robert Häner
Linear and Nonlinear THz Science

Ultrafast Molecular Spectroscopy
Femtosecond Spectroscopy of Organic Electronic Materials
Supramolecular Polymers
UniBE/PSI Adrian Cavalieri Laboratory for Non-Linear Optics
PSI  Paul Beaud
Urs Staub
Chris Milne
Jörg Standfuss
Femtosecond X-rays
Microscopy and Magnetism
Beamline Alvra at SwissFEL
Laboratory of Biomolecular Research
EPFL Majed Chergui
Fabrizio Carbone
Jacques - E. Moser
Ursula Röthlisberger
Jiri Vanicek 
Ultrafast Spectroscopy
Ultrafast Microscopy and Electron Scattering
Photochemical Dynamics
Computational Chemistry and Biochemistry
Theoretical Physical Chemistry
EPFL/PSI Christoph Bostedt Laboratory for Femtochemistry (LSF)
UniZH  Peter Hamm
Jürg Osterwalder
Ultrafast Molecular Dynamics
Surface Physics
UniBA  Markus Meuwly  Theoretical Chemistry
UniGE  Jean-Pierre Wolf  GAP Biophotonics
Junior PIs    
Uni Bern André Stefanov Quantum Optics
EPFL Ulrich Lorenz Molecular nanodynamics
ETHZ Daniela Rupp (from  September 2019, currently at MBI)
FAST PIs    
ETHZ Rachel Grange
Ruth Signorell
Manfred Fiebig
Jochen Maurer
Aldo Antognini
Optical Nanomaterials
Aerosols and Nanoscience
Multifunctional ferroic materials
Atomic H-target development
Precision Physics at Low Energy
ETHZ/PSI Gebhard Schertler Laboratory of Biomolecular Research
UniBE Silvio Decurtins New Materials
Phase I / II PIs    
ETHZ/PSI Jeroen van Bokhoven Heterogenous Catalysis
UniNE Thomas Südmeyer Time and Frequency
PSI  Bruce Patterson
Rafael Abela
Thomas Gerber
Hans Sigg
Molecular Dynamics
Quantum Technologies Group
UniGE  Eric Vauthey  Ultrafast Photochemistry
UniZH Matthias Hengsberger Surface Physics
EPFL  Hubert Girault  Physical and Analytical Electrochemistry

Leading houses: ETH Zürich and Universität Bern
NCCR MUST Office : ETHZ IQE/ULP-HPT H3 | Auguste-Piccard-Hof 1 | 8093 Zurich | E-Mail | +41 44 633 36 02
The National Centres of Competence in Research (NCCR) are a research instrument of the Swiss National Science Foundation