Forthcoming Events

22.04.2018 - 26.04.2018, Strasbourg Convention & Exhibition Centre, France
23.04.2018 - 26.04.2018, National University of Defence Technology, Changsha, Hunan China


New scientific highlights- by MUST PIs Ursula Keller, Thomas Feuer, Majed Chergui, Hans Jakob Wörner, Jean-Pierre Wolf and Ursula Röthlisberger
ERC Advanced Grants for Ursula Keller and Ruth Signorell- a major success for women scientists in the NCCR MUST
ETH WPF General Assembly - 28 March 2018Video-conferencing in Zürich and Lausanne
Peter Hamm selected as the 2018 recipient of the Ellis R. Lippincott Award (OSA)- for seminal contributions to developing multidimensional infrared, Raman and Terahertz spectroscopy
Thomas Feuer: Vortrag über THz Strahlung (in German)- in der Physikalischen Gesellschaft Zürich (PGZ)
Ursula Keller awarded the IEEE Photonics Award 2018 -for her work as a pioneer in the field of ultrafast lasers
Jean-Pierre Wolf to Receive ZEISS Research Award - for his groundbreaking application of laser pulses in researching the earth’s atmosphere
Three new scientific highlights- by MUST PIs Jean-Pierre Wolf, Majed Chergui / Rafael Abela / Chris Milne and Ursula Keller /Jörg Osterwalder / Matthias Hengsberger
Special Issue of Structural Dynamics on the NCCR MUST- with 10 reviews and 2 perspectives
Majed Chergui elected to the Royal Academy of Sciences of Spain - as successor to Ahmed Zewail (1999 Chemistry Nobel Laureate)
GAP-Biophotonics with Jean-Pierre Wolf-visited by the Grand Conseil of Geneva
First time resolved Pilot Experiment by SwissFEL (30.11.2017): Semiconductor to metal transition in Ti3O5 nanocrystals
ERC Consolidator Grant for Hans Jakob WörnerAttosecond X-ray spectroscopy of liquids ...

Quantum Nano-Photonics

Date Do, 20.07.2017 - Fr, 04.08.2017
Location Erice, Italy
Program The International School of Atomic and Molecular Spectroscopy of the Ettore Majorana Center is organizing a NATO Advanced Study Institute.

The general aim of this Institute will be to bring together more closely researchers working in the two fields of quantum optics and nano-optics to provide a general overview of the main topics of interest in applied and fundamental research. The Institute will, for example cover single-photon emitters and emitters of entangled photon pairs based on epitaxially grown semiconductor quantum dots, nitrogen vacancy centers in diamond as single-photon emitters, coupled quantum bits based on trapped ions, integrated waveguide superconducting nanowire single-photon detectors, quantum nano-plasmonics, nanosensing, quantum aspects of biophotonics and quantum metamaterials. The lectures shall span the bridge from pedagogical introductions into the fundamental principles to the current state-of-the-art given by pioneers and leaders in the field. Numerical simulations will be also presented as a powerful tool to gain insight into the physical behavior of nanophotonic systems and provide a critical complement to experimental investigations and design of devices.

The participants will have the opportunity to interact with each other in a stimulating atmosphere and to present their research work in the form of short seminars or posters.

Javier Aizpurua, CSIC/DIPC, San Sebastian, SPAIN
Steve Arnold, Polytechnic Institute of NYU, Brooklyn, NY, USA
Rolindes Balda, University of the Basque Country, Bilbao, SPAIN
Oliver Benson, Humboldt Universität Berlin, GERMANY
Marco Bettinelli, University of Verona, Verona, ITALY
Rainer Blatt, University of Innsbruck, AUSTRIA
John Bowen, The University of Reading, Reading, UK
Joshua Caldwell, US Naval Research Lab,Washington, DC, USA
John Collins, Wheaton College, Norton, MA, USA
Paul Corkum, University of Ottawa, Ottawa, CANADA
Baldassare Di Bartolo, Boston College, Chestnut Hill, MA, USA
Joaquín Fernández, University of the Basque Country, Bilbao, SPAIN.
Sergey Gaponenko, National Academy of Sciences, Minsk, BELARUS
Eric Mazur, Harvard University, Cambridge, MA, USA
Lukas Novotny, ETH, Zurich, SWITZERLAND
Wolfram Pernice, University Münster, GERMANY
Fabrizio Pinto, Izmir University of Economics, Izmir, TURKEY
Lora Ramunno, University of Ottawa, Ottawa, CANADA
Mark I. Stockman, Georgia State University, Atlanta, GA, USA
Martin Wegener, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT), Karlsruhe, GERMANY
Jean-Pierre Wolf, Université de Gèneve, Gèneve, SWITZERLAND
Vanessa Wood, ETH Zurich, SWITZERLAND
Download (68 KB)
(68 KB)
NCCR MUST Office : ETHZ IQE/ULP-HPT H3 | Auguste-Piccard-Hof 1 | 8093 Zurich | E-Mail | +41 44 633 36 02
The National Centres of Competence in Research (NCCR) are a research instrument of the Swiss National Science Foundation