Forthcoming Events

05.09.2022 - 09.09.2022, Iseolago hotel, Iseo, Italy.


MUST2022 Conference- a great success!
New scientific highlights- by MUST PIs Wörner, Chergui, and Richardson
FELs of Europe prize for Jeremy Rouxel- “Development or innovative use of advanced instrumentation in the field of FELs”
Ruth Signorell wins Doron prizefor pioneering contributions to the field of fundamental aerosol science
New FAST-Fellow Uwe Thumm at ETH- lectures on Topics in Femto- and Attosecond Science
International Day of Women and Girls in Science- SSPh asked female scientists about their experiences
New scientific highlight- by MUST PIs Milne, Standfuss and Schertler
EU XFEL Young Scientist Award for Camila Bacellar,beamline scientist and group leader of the Alvra endstation at SwissFEL
Prizes for Giulia Mancini and Rebeca Gomez CastilloICO/IUPAP Young Scientist Prize in Optics & Ernst Haber 2021
Nobel Prize in Chemistry awarded to RESOLV Member Benjamin List- for the development of asymmetric organocatalysis
NCCR MUST at Scientifica 2021- Lightning, organic solar cells, and virtual molecules
#NCCRWomen- NCCR MUST celebrates 50 years women’s right to vote in Switzerland

Education Competitions 2014 and 2012

Education Competition 2014

The 2014 prize winners displayed their education experiments and display tools at the 2015 Annual Meeting in Engelberg, see Photo Gallery 2015. These experiments have subsequently been used in a number of exhibitions and schools visits: Scientifica 2015, ETH Zürich and Uni Zürich, September 4 - 6, 2015, the ETH Physics Teachers Day, 13 November 2015 and Festiscience, 23 April 2016
The winners were:
Martin Huppert, Wörner Group, Pendulum-Clock-Laser, a mechanical model for mode-locking and wave-packets (First prize)
Dr. Adrien Chauvet, Chergui Group, Solar Stirling Engine: with enhanced heat-collection via nano-particles (Second prize)
Cornelia Hofmann, Keller Group, Intuitive Classical Model for Laser-induced over the barrier ionization (Third Prize)

The education tools were shown during the poster session, and each winner gave a short presentation to the MUST community on their idea, and the realization of their experiment.

The Pendulum Clock Laser, Martin Huppert, Wörner Group, First Prize

The Solar Engine, Adrien Chauvet, Chergui Group, Second Prize

Intuitive Model for Over-the-Barrier ionization, Cornelia Hofmann, Keller Group, Third Prize

Earlier NCCR MUST educational tools are shown below:

Airdyelaser1    Sam_0585       Pumpprobeprototype     
Air laser               Pr:YLF laser          Pump-probe prototype         

Education Competition Winners 2012

The first MUST competition took place in 2012 with prizes awarded on 10th January 2013 at MUST Annual Meeting. Some of these experiments have been used in MUST's activities in 2015 and 2016 for the International Year of Light.

First Prize:  Vesna Markovic and Diego Villamaina, Vauthey Group, Uni Geneva

Joint Second Prize, Andrii Rogov, Wolf Group, Uni Geneva

Joint Second Prize, Alexander Rodenberg, A Simple fully LED-based flash photolysis setup with nanosecond resolution, Hamm Group, Uni Zurich
Third Prize: Svetlana Afonina and Denis Kiselev, Audio Pulse Shaper, Wolf Group, Uni Geneva
  • Marius Wehrle/Aurélien Patoz/Miroslav Sulc, Electronic Excitation induced by your own pulse - create your own ultrafast experiment, Vanicek Group, EPFL You can try out this educational experiment using this link to EPFL website:
  • Paul Donaldson, The Moving World of Molecules, Hamm Group, Uni Zurich
NCCR MUST Office : ETHZ IQE/ULP-HPT H3 | Auguste-Piccard-Hof 1 | 8093 Zurich | E-Mail
The National Centres of Competence in Research (NCCR) are a research instrument of the Swiss National Science Foundation