Forthcoming Events

30.08.2020 - 04.09.2020, Online (Europe)


New scientific highlights- from MUST researchers at PSI
Promotion to full professorcongratulations to Steve Johnson!
The Laser at 60: Ursula KellerOPN interviewed OSA Fellows
Former EPFL PhD student Edoardo Baldini wins the 2020 ACS PHYS Division Young Investigator Awards
New scientific highlights- by MUST PIs Banerji, Chergui and Wolf
Prix de l'innovation AGROVINA 2020- for Agrolase: detecting spores of pathogens in real time
Ruth Signorell receives the Humboldt Prize- awarded in recognition of outstanding achievements in research and teaching
New scientific highlights- by MUST PIs Keller, Chergui, Richardson / Vanicek, Wörner, Castiglioni / Osterwalder / Hengsberger / van Bokhoven
Ursula Keller wins the SPIE 2020 Gold Medal- awarded in recognition of outstanding engineering or scientific accomplishments
Nobel Prize winner Gerard Mourou - Physics Colloquium 11.12.19: Passion Extreme Light

History of ETH Women Professors Forum


12 May 2014, 3rd General Assembly was held followed by workshops. Guest participants came from the Equal Office, the Office of Faculty Affairs and the ETH Foundation. Adaption of the bylaws (Statuten) concerning the members of the Executive Board was approved and a new Executive Board was elected.


18 November 2013, The ETH WPF coordinator has started work in the Equal Office.

1 October 2013, Ursula Keller and Janet Hering, made a presentation to the Department Heads committee meeting based on the ETH WPF retreat recommendations.

3 July 2013, ETH President announced that ETH will fund a 60% position for the ETH WPF based in the Equal Office, ETH.

28 May 2013, ETH WPF presentation to the ETH Schulleitung summarized recommendations from the ETH WPF Retreat, and subsequent consultation, and included request to fund a position to support the ETH WPF based in the Equal Office.

8 April 2013, ETH WPF 2nd General Assembly was held at the ETH WPFretreat, at Uetliberg-Zurich with guest participants from theEqual Office, the Office of Faculty Affairs.

2011 - 2012

27 September 2012, Ursula Keller met Lino Guzzella, ETH Rector, who provided funding support to the development of the ETH WPF.

7 March 2012, ETH WPF founding Assembly held (21 professors attending). The proposed seven-member Executive Board was voted into office, plus the statutes and the strategy: Ursula Keller as President and Janet Hering as Vice President.

14 December 2011, the foundation of ETH WPF was announced in the end of year speech by the ETH President.

August/September 2011, 3 consultative lunches with female professors at ETH. A report on issues raised was circulated.

July 2011 a group of 8 senior ETH women professors met with the aim of establishing a Women Professors Forum at the University. During 2011 and 2012, the ETH Women Professors' Forum was created with the support of funding from NCCR MUST.


ETH Zürich is an exceptional scientific university that fosters excellence at every level. ETH Zürich encourages diversity in its workforce and wants to attract all the unique talents, insights, creativity and skills on offer in the world community.

"As senior women professors at ETH Zürich we say: Here we are at ETH Zurich. It is a great place to be! We want you to join us!"

The members of the Women Professors Forum want to be part of ETH’s efforts to attract young girls and women to science, retain women scientists, and promote excellent individuals to the highest level of the university.

NCCR MUST Office : ETHZ IQE/ULP-HPT H3 | Auguste-Piccard-Hof 1 | 8093 Zurich | E-Mail | +41 44 633 36 02
The National Centres of Competence in Research (NCCR) are a research instrument of the Swiss National Science Foundation