Forthcoming Events

01.10.2020 - 01.10.2020, AkademieHotel, Karlsruhe, Germany
26.10.2020 - 28.10.2020, Paul Scherrer Institut (PSI), Villigen,Switzerland


New scientific highlights- by MUST PIs Chergui, Milne and Wörner
New scientific highlights- from MUST researchers at PSI
Promotion to full professorcongratulations to Steve Johnson!
The Laser at 60: Ursula KellerOPN interviewed OSA Fellows
Former EPFL PhD student Edoardo Baldini wins the 2020 ACS PHYS Division Young Investigator Awards
New scientific highlights- by MUST PIs Banerji, Chergui and Wolf
Prix de l'innovation AGROVINA 2020- for Agrolase: detecting spores of pathogens in real time
Ruth Signorell receives the Humboldt Prize- awarded in recognition of outstanding achievements in research and teaching

ETH-FAST Projects

Current and finished FAST projects

THe six ETH-FAST projects, initiated in Phase I of the NCCR MUST to expand ultrafast efforts in physics and other departments of ETH Zürich, were concluded. In Phase II of MUST, six new projects were started.

Phase II projects

Ruth Signorell and Egor Chasovskikh (ETH Chemistry), Ursula Keller (ETH Physics), from January 1, 2016
Time- and angle-resolved EUV photoelectron spectroscopy of aerosol particles

Rachel Grange (ETH Physics), from January 1, 2016
Ultrafast Solution Processed Photonic Crystals

Aldo Antognini, Klaus Kirch and Karsten Schuhmann (ETH Physics), from January 1, 2016
Thin-disk laser amplifier in the kW regime for ultrashort pulses

Gebhard Schertler (PSI and ETH Biology), from January 1, 2016
Structural and biochemical characterization of novel tools in optogenetics

Manfred Fiebig and Christian Tzschaschel (ETH D-MATL), from January 1, 2016
Ultrafast all-optical manipulation of a multiferroic state

Jochen Maurer and Ursula Keller (ETH Physics), from January 1, 2017
Atomic H-target development
Finished Phase I / II projects:

Jeroen van Bokhoven and Arno Schneider (PSI and ETH Chemistry)
Pump - probe X-ray absorption on metal nano-particles

Ruth Signorell (ETH Chemistry)
Towards time- and angle-resolved photoelectron spectroscopy of ultrafine weakly-bound aerosol particles

Gebhard Schertler (PSI and ETH Biology)
2D femtosecond crystallography: X-ray free electron laser studies on two-dimensional crystals of membrane proteins
Hans Jakob Wörner, Jeroen van Bokhoven and Matthew Brown (ETH Chemistry)

Hans Jakob Wörner, Matthew Brown and Jeroen van Bokhoven (ETH Chemistry)
Ultrafast time-resolved photoelectron spectroscopy of solvated metal oxide nanoparticles

Alexandra Landsman and Cornelia Hofmann (ETH Physics)
Ultrafast electron dynamics in strong field ionization

Steve Johnson (ETH Physics), Urs Staub (PSI) and Manfred Fiebig (ETH Material Sciences)
Ultrafast manipulation of magnetism in antiferromagnetic transition metal oxides
NCCR MUST Office : ETHZ IQE/ULP-HPT H3 | Auguste-Piccard-Hof 1 | 8093 Zurich | E-Mail | +41 44 633 36 02
The National Centres of Competence in Research (NCCR) are a research instrument of the Swiss National Science Foundation