Ultrafast manipulation of magnetism in antiferromagnetic transition metal oxides

Johnson2    Prof. Dr. Steve Johnson
ETH Zurich
Institute for Quantum Electronics
Wolfgang-Pauli-Strasse 16
8093 Zurich
+41 44 633 76 31
Project start   April 17, 2012
Project end   January 31, 2015
Goal for 2014   Complete publication on near-IR induced dynamics of NiO.  Make first investigations of mid-IR pump induced magnetic dynamics using optical SHG as a probe. 
Goals   To use femtosecond magnetic x-ray scattering to understand the mechanism and character of femtosecond laser-induced spin reorientation dynamics in one or more transition metal oxides
Project partners  
Urs Staub
+41 56 310 44 94
Swiss Light Source (SLS)
Paul Scherrer Institut                       
5232 Villigen PSI
Manfred Fiebig
MFM HCI  E 488.1
+41 44 632 26 90
Multifunktionale Ferroische Mat.,          

Wolfgang-Pauli-Str. 10,
8093 Zurich

Abstract    This project aims to develop and apply time-resolved x-ray magnetic scattering to the study of magnetic structural dynamics in antiferromagnetic transition metal oxides, with a possible view toward spintronics applications.  The success of this project will potentially open up a new class of experiments that will make full use of the short pulse duration and high peak intensity of x-ray free electron lasers to understand and control switching processes in complex magnetic structures.
Publications   T. Kubacka, J. A. Johnson, M. C. Hoffmann, C. Vicario, S. de Jong, P. Beaud, S. Grübel, S.-W. Huang, L. Huber, L. Patthey, Y.-D. Chuang, J. J. Turner, G. L. Dakovski, W.-S. Lee, M. P. Minitti, W. Schlotter, R. G. Moore, C. P. Hauri, S. M. Koohpayeh, V. Scagnoli, G. Ingold, S. L. Johnson, and U. Staub (2014) Large-Amplitude Spin Dynamics Driven by a THz Pulse in Resonance with an Electromagnon. Science 343, 6177 (10.1126/science.1242862)
NCCR MUST Office : ETHZ IQE/ULP-HPT H3 | Auguste-Piccard-Hof 1 | 8093 Zurich | E-Mail | +41 44 633 36 02
The National Centres of Competence in Research (NCCR) are a research instrument of the Swiss National Science Foundation