Ursula Keller wins “Swiss Nobel” Marcel Benoist Prize- for pioneering work in ultrafast lasers
MUST2022 Conference- a great success!
New scientific highlights- by MUST PIs Wörner, Chergui, and Richardson
FELs of Europe prize for Jeremy Rouxel- “Development or innovative use of advanced instrumentation in the field of FELs”
Ruth Signorell wins Doron prizefor pioneering contributions to the field of fundamental aerosol science
New FAST-Fellow Uwe Thumm at ETH- lectures on Topics in Femto- and Attosecond Science
International Day of Women and Girls in Science- SSPh asked female scientists about their experiences
New scientific highlight- by MUST PIs Milne, Standfuss and Schertler
EU XFEL Young Scientist Award for Camila Bacellar,beamline scientist and group leader of the Alvra endstation at SwissFEL
Prizes for Giulia Mancini and Rebeca Gomez CastilloICO/IUPAP Young Scientist Prize in Optics & Ernst Haber 2021
Nobel Prize in Chemistry awarded to RESOLV Member Benjamin List- for the development of asymmetric organocatalysis
NCCR MUST at Scientifica 2021- Lightning, organic solar cells, and virtual molecules

Industrial Project Program

IPP calls and explanations

Most of MUST research concerns fundamental research questions and is distant from industrial interests. However, at the forefront of research new equipment and methods are being developed that are of interest to the photonic instrumentation industry, pharmaceutical companies, and for environmental monitoring and detection.

The NCCR MUST Management selects and funds with true seed money so called “industrial projects”. Such a project can be submitted by an NCCR MUST PI together with a project leader/CTO of a company (small or large). The “industrial project” allows the PI to carry out the work necessary to be able to submit an Innosuisse project proposal at a later stage.

The industrial project is limited to a maximum of 50 kCHF, as described in the submission guidelines (Submission Guidelines-2020). The three calls during Phase I resulted in five IPPS, the two calls of Phase II resulted in six IPP. We have now opened a new call for Phase III (IPP Submission Form-2019).

Granted IPP projects

Two IPPs are currently running
  • DemoLas (2020-2022, Thomas Feurer)
  • SMALA (2019-2020, Jean-Pierre Wolf, AGROLASE)
Finished IPPs
  • LAWC (2016-2020, Jean-Pierre Wolf, TIBIO sagl.)
  • ENDOTERA (2017-2019, Jacques Moser, Aekip SA)
  • Ultrafast-UV (2016-2018, Thomas Südmeyer, Thin Film Physics AG)
  • Stadil (2011-2012, CSEM, Time Bandwidth Products)
  • Hydrogen-like Interactions (2011-2014, Markus Meuwly, Novartis)
  • Pollentracker (2013-2015, Jean-Pierre Wolf, PLAIR)
  • fs-IONIGHT (2013-2015, Thomas Feurer, IONIGHT)
  • CEOstab (2014-2015, Ursula Keller, Zurich Instruments)
  • Fitting Wizard (2014-2016, Markus Meuwly, Super Computing Systems)
  • CALE (2015-2016, Thomas Feurer, ESA)
  • LAMPTA (2015-2016, Thomas Feurer, AME GmbH)
NCCR MUST Office : ETHZ IQE/ULP-HPT H3 | Auguste-Piccard-Hof 1 | 8093 Zurich | E-Mail
The National Centres of Competence in Research (NCCR) are a research instrument of the Swiss National Science Foundation