Proof of concept ERC Grant for Ursula Keller Dual-comb laser driven terahertz spectrometer for industrial sensing (DC-THz)
Farewell and Welcome!Chris Milne leaves for the European XFEL, Camila Bacellar takes over
SY-GAIA expedition - measures aerosols in the North-Atlantic
Synergy grants for MUST-AssociatesSylvie Roke (EPFL) and Gebhard Schertler (PSI/ETH).
Promotion to Associate Professor of Photonicscongratulations to Rachel Grange!
First light in the SwissFEL Maloja endstation- on track for first experiments in 2021
New scientific highlights- by MUST PIs Chergui, Milne, Wörner, Vaníček and Röthlisberger
New scientific highlights- from MUST researchers at PSI

MUST Theory Fellows

In Phase II the MUST DC developed the MUST Theory Fellow (MTF) grants to increase theory support for experimental groups, primarily focused on condensed matter and attosecond processes. In Phase III these awards continue with limited funding available to verify theoretical or experimental results by
  • paying a lump sum (local Postdoc salary for the duration of the project) to an international theory group as a compensation for a defined task (mandate) supporting experimental and/or theory research by MUST-groups
The Application Form and Submission Guidelines should be used to apply for funding. Each application is limited to a maximum of 15,000 CHF.  The call for funding is now open.

Three MUST Theory Fellow Projects were awarded in Phase II (2014 -  2018)
Dr. Michael Fechner, (Max Planck Institute for the Structure and Dynamics of Matter), Hamburg, for Urs Staub (PSI) on "Excited state TDDFT on correlated perovskites”.
  • Porer, M., Fechner, M., Kubli, M., Neugebauer, M.J., Parchenko, S., Esposito, V., Narayan, A., Spaldin, N.A., Huber, R., Radovic, M., Bothschafter, E.M., Glownia, J.M., Sato, T., Song, S., Johnson, S.L., and Staub, U. (2019). Ultrafast transient increase of oxygen octahedral rotations in a perovskite. Phys Rev Research 1, 012005. (
Dr. Maria Richter, Dr. Olga Smirnova, and Prof. Mikhail Ivanov at the Theory Division of the Max-Born-Institute Berlin, worked with Jean-Pierre Wolf, Uni Geneva on "Maxwell Schrödinger simulations for filamentation processes (MAXSCOPE)"
  • Matthews, M., Morales, F., Patas, A., Lindinger, A., Gateau, J., Berti, N., Hermelin, S., Kasparian, J., Richter, M., Bredtmann, T., Smirnova, O., Wolf, J.-P., and Ivanov, M. (2018). Amplification of intense light fields by nearly free electrons. Nature Phys 14, 695-700. (
Dr. Tom Penfold, University of Newcastle, UK worked with Majed Chergui (EPFL) and Chris Milne (PSI on "Probing Femtosecond Hole Trapping in ZnO with X-ray Spectroscopy”
  • D. Kinschel, C. Bacellar, O. Cannelli, B. Sorokin, T. Katayama, G. F. Mancini, J. R. Rouxel, Y. Obara, J. Nishitani, H. Ito, T. Ito, N. Kurahashi, C. Higashimura, S. Kudo, T Keane, F. A. Lima, W. Gawelda, P. Zalden, S. Schulz, J. Budarz, D. Khakhulin, A. Galler, C. Bressler, C. J. Milne, T. Penfold, M. Yabashi, T. Suzuki, K. Misawa and M. Chergui (2020) Femtosecond X-ray emission study of the spin cross-over dynamics in heme proteins. Nature Commun. (under review) and arXiv:2005.05598 (May 12, 2020)
  • Disentangling the hole and electron dynamics in photoexcited ZnO nanoparticles: ultrafast optical fluorescence and X-ray absorption spectroscopy (paper in preparation)

One MUST Theory Fellow Projects was awarded in Phase III (2018 -  2022)

Dr. Tom Penfold, University of Newcastle, UK works with Hans Jakob Wörner (ETHZ) on "Strong Field Ionised Solvents Probed by X-ray Spectroscopy" (in progress)
NCCR MUST Office : ETHZ IQE/ULP-HPT H3 | Auguste-Piccard-Hof 1 | 8093 Zurich | E-Mail | +41 44 633 36 02
The National Centres of Competence in Research (NCCR) are a research instrument of the Swiss National Science Foundation