Ursula Keller wins “Swiss Nobel” Marcel Benoist Prize- for pioneering work in ultrafast lasers
MUST2022 Conference- a great success!
New scientific highlights- by MUST PIs Wörner, Chergui, and Richardson
FELs of Europe prize for Jeremy Rouxel- “Development or innovative use of advanced instrumentation in the field of FELs”
Ruth Signorell wins Doron prizefor pioneering contributions to the field of fundamental aerosol science
New FAST-Fellow Uwe Thumm at ETH- lectures on Topics in Femto- and Attosecond Science
International Day of Women and Girls in Science- SSPh asked female scientists about their experiences
New scientific highlight- by MUST PIs Milne, Standfuss and Schertler
EU XFEL Young Scientist Award for Camila Bacellar,beamline scientist and group leader of the Alvra endstation at SwissFEL
Prizes for Giulia Mancini and Rebeca Gomez CastilloICO/IUPAP Young Scientist Prize in Optics & Ernst Haber 2021
Nobel Prize in Chemistry awarded to RESOLV Member Benjamin List- for the development of asymmetric organocatalysis
NCCR MUST at Scientifica 2021- Lightning, organic solar cells, and virtual molecules

DPG Physics School on Free-electron X-ray Laser Physics

Date So, 15.09.2013 - Fr, 20.09.2013
Time All day
Location Physikzentrum Bad Honnef, Germany
Program The advent of the first free-electron X-ray lasers, FLASH in 2004 and LCLS in 2009, may prove to be the most profound development since the invention of the laser and, equally, the synchrotron. Sharp improvements in a number of laser parameters, most notably intensity and pulse duration, support this expectation. This brings scientific dreams within reach, that have inspired scientists since decades: The spectrum ranges from nonlinear X-ray optics to X-ray structural analysis of individual macro molecules. Indeed, the unprecedented opportunities and expectations have triggered considerable investments and research activities worldwide. By the end of the decade, a dozen of X-ray laser facilities can be expected to be operational.

The School will bring together scientists who have played a leading role in developing and applying free-electron X-ray lasers. The primary goal is teaching the fundamentals of free-electron laser to young scientists and providing them with an overview of the present status X-ray free-electron laser science.

• Fundamentals of X-ray physics
• Fundamentals of free-electron lasers
• Status and prospects of X-ray laser physics
• Interaction with matter
• Coherent imaging

Confirmed Speakers:
• Rafael Abela (Paul Scherrer Institute)
• Louis DiMauro (The Ohio State University)
• Roger Falcone (Berkeley)
• Josef Feldhaus (DESY)
• Gianluca Geloni (European XFEL)
• Jerry Hastings (LCLS Stanford)
• Tetsuya Ishikawa (RIKEN SPring-8)
• Franz Kärtner (DESY)
• Jens Limpert (Friedrich Schiller University Jena)
• Ralf Röhlsberger (DESY)
• Nina Rohringer (DESY)
• Jörg Rossbach (DESY)
• Robin Santra (CFEL Hamburg)
• Ilme Schlichting (MPI Heidelberg)
• Klaus Sokolowski-Tinten (University of Duisburg-Essen)
• Peter Schmüser (DESY)
• Christian Schroer (TU Dresden)
• Edgar Weckert (DESY Hamburg)
• Joachim Ullrich (PTB Braunschweig)
Download (75 KB)
(75 KB)
Link Free-electron X-ray Laser Physics
NCCR MUST Office : ETHZ IQE/ULP-HPT H3 | Auguste-Piccard-Hof 1 | 8093 Zurich | E-Mail
The National Centres of Competence in Research (NCCR) are a research instrument of the Swiss National Science Foundation