Ursula Keller wins “Swiss Nobel” Marcel Benoist Prize- for pioneering work in ultrafast lasers
MUST2022 Conference- a great success!
New scientific highlights- by MUST PIs Wörner, Chergui, and Richardson
FELs of Europe prize for Jeremy Rouxel- “Development or innovative use of advanced instrumentation in the field of FELs”
Ruth Signorell wins Doron prizefor pioneering contributions to the field of fundamental aerosol science
New FAST-Fellow Uwe Thumm at ETH- lectures on Topics in Femto- and Attosecond Science
International Day of Women and Girls in Science- SSPh asked female scientists about their experiences
New scientific highlight- by MUST PIs Milne, Standfuss and Schertler
EU XFEL Young Scientist Award for Camila Bacellar,beamline scientist and group leader of the Alvra endstation at SwissFEL
Prizes for Giulia Mancini and Rebeca Gomez CastilloICO/IUPAP Young Scientist Prize in Optics & Ernst Haber 2021
Nobel Prize in Chemistry awarded to RESOLV Member Benjamin List- for the development of asymmetric organocatalysis
NCCR MUST at Scientifica 2021- Lightning, organic solar cells, and virtual molecules


Date So, 12.07.2015 - Fr, 17.07.2015
Time All day
Location Campus Bahrenfeld of DESY and the University of Hamburg
Program The 12th Femtochemistry Conference (FEMTO12) - Frontiers of ultrafast phenomena in Chemistry, Biology, and Physics - will take place in Hamburg, Germany, from 12. to 17. July 2015. The venue will be the Campus Bahrenfeld of DESY and the University of Hamburg, which with its unique facilities and scientific environment provides a great scientific setting for this ultrafast science conference.

Hamburg, officially "Free and Hanseatic City of Hamburg", is the second largest city in Germany and the eighth largest city in the European Union. The Hamburg Metropolitan Region has more than 5 million inhabitants. The port of Hamburg, on the river Elbe, is the second largest port in Europe (after the Port of Rotterdam) and tenth largest worldwide. Hamburg is a major transport hub and is one of the most affluent cities in Europe. The city is a notable tourist destination for both domestic and overseas visitors and it is ranked 17th in the world for livability in 2012. See, for instance, for more details on the city.

FEMTO12 will bring together scientists from all over the world to present and discuss the most recent advances in femtosciences, including reaction dynamics, coherent control, structural dynamics, solvation phenomena, liquids and interfaces, fast processes in biological systems, strong field processes, attosecond electron dynamics and aggregates, surfaces and solids with contributions from both theory and experiment.

Registration is open at, with a deadline of 30. April 2015 for abstract submission and early bird payment. A number of submitted abstracts will be selected for hot topics talks.
In order to allow as many early-stage researchers as possible to attend the conference, the Hamburg Center for Ultrafast Imaging provides substantial support for PhD students upon application. Please see for details. Moreover, a block of rooms is set aside in the DESY guest house especially for students participating in FEMTO12.
Further details regarding travel and housing are provided on the FEMTO12 website.

The confirmed invited speakers are listed at and currently include
• Bernd Abel (Universität Leibzig)
• Philip Anfinrud (NIDDK, NIH, Bethesda, MD)
• Huib Bakker (AMOLF, Amsterdam, The Netherlands)
• Misha Bonn (MPI Polymer Research, Mainz)
• Tobias Brixner (Universität Würzburg)
• Francesca Calegari (Politecnico di Milano)
• Martin Centurion (University of Nebraska)
• Henry Chapman (CFEL, DESY and Universität Hamburg)
• Majed Chergui (EPFL Lausanne)
• Martina Dell'Angela (Elettra Sincrotrone Trieste)
• Thomas Elsaesser (Max-Born-Institut, Berlin)
• Fernando Martín García (Universidad Autonoma de Madrid)
• Leticia González (Universität Wien)
• Frank de Groot (University of Utrecht)
• Kevin Kubarych (University of Michigan)
• Damien Laage (ENS Paris)
• Stefan Lochbrunner (Universität Rostock)
• Jom Luiten (Technische Universiteit Eindhoven)
• Dwayne Miller (CFEL, MPSD, Hamburg and University of Toronto)
• Keith Nelson (MIT, Cambridge, MA)
• Kenji Ohmori (Institute for Molecular Science, Okazaki)
• Hrvoje Petek (University of Pittsburgh)
• Arnaud Rouzée (Max-Born-Institut, Berlin)
• Artem Rudenko (Kansas State University)
• Tamar Seideman (Northwestern University, Evanston, IL)
• Henrik Stapelfeldt (Aarhus University)
• Villy Sundström (University of Lund)
• Toshinori Suzuki (Kyoto University)
• Regina de Vivie-Riedle (LMU München)
• Peter Vöhringer (Rheinische Friedrich-Wilhelms-Universität Bonn)
• Matthias Wollenhaupt (Carl von Ossietzky Universität Oldenburg)
• Hans Jakob Wörner (ETH Zürich)

We look forward to seeing you at FEMTO12 in Hamburg this summer to discuss the latest trends and the important challenges in ultrafast molecular and chemical science.

Best regards,
Jochen Küpper, chair FEMTO12
Download (75 KB)
(75 KB)
Link FEMTO12
NCCR MUST Office : ETHZ IQE/ULP-HPT H3 | Auguste-Piccard-Hof 1 | 8093 Zurich | E-Mail
The National Centres of Competence in Research (NCCR) are a research instrument of the Swiss National Science Foundation