Ursula Keller wins “Swiss Nobel” Marcel Benoist Prize- for pioneering work in ultrafast lasers
MUST2022 Conference- a great success!
New scientific highlights- by MUST PIs Wörner, Chergui, and Richardson
FELs of Europe prize for Jeremy Rouxel- “Development or innovative use of advanced instrumentation in the field of FELs”
Ruth Signorell wins Doron prizefor pioneering contributions to the field of fundamental aerosol science
New FAST-Fellow Uwe Thumm at ETH- lectures on Topics in Femto- and Attosecond Science
International Day of Women and Girls in Science- SSPh asked female scientists about their experiences
New scientific highlight- by MUST PIs Milne, Standfuss and Schertler
EU XFEL Young Scientist Award for Camila Bacellar,beamline scientist and group leader of the Alvra endstation at SwissFEL
Prizes for Giulia Mancini and Rebeca Gomez CastilloICO/IUPAP Young Scientist Prize in Optics & Ernst Haber 2021
Nobel Prize in Chemistry awarded to RESOLV Member Benjamin List- for the development of asymmetric organocatalysis
NCCR MUST at Scientifica 2021- Lightning, organic solar cells, and virtual molecules

Ultrafast X-ray Summer School 2015 - UXSS 2015

Date Mo, 22.06.2015 - Do, 25.06.2015
Time All day
Location DESY, Hamburg, Germany
Program UXSS 2015 is jointly organized by the Center for Free-Electron Laser Science (CFEL) at DESY and the PULSE institute at SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory. The summer school program will be highly interdisciplinary, with topics ranging from accelerator physics to molecular biology. A list of speakers can be found at the end of this message.

Applications for participation in UXSS 2015 have been accepted. Please visit and click on
'Application’. The application deadline is March 31, 2015.

Please note that the number of summer school participants will be limited. In order to facilitate the selection of participants, we are asking applicants to provide a short text describing their educational and scientific background and their motivation for applying for participation in UXSS 2015. The applicants will be asked to pay a registration fee in the amount of 100 EUR. Accepted applicants will receive financial support for travel and local expenses, provided by the VolkswagenStiftung.

Please forward this announcement to doctoral students and postdoctoral research associates who you think might be interested in participating in UXSS 2015.

Sincerely yours,
Sang-Kil Son, CFEL, DESY
Mariano Trigo, PULSE, SLAC

List of speakers at UXSS 2015

- Giorgio Margaritondo, EPFL, Switzerland: X-ray light sources

- Robin Santra, DESY & Univ. of Hamburg, Germany: Fundamentals of x-ray--matter interaction

- David Reis, SLAC & Stanford Univ., USA: Ultrafast x-ray application in condensed matter physics

- Linda Young, Argonne Natl. Lab., USA: Atomic and molecular physics using ultrafast x-rays

- Markus Gühr, SLAC, USA: Ultrafast chemical dynamics

- Simone Techert, DESY & Univ. of Göttingen, Germany: Time-resolved structural biology and chemistry

- Thomas White, DESY, Germany: Serial femtosecond crystallography

- Wilfried Wurth, DESY & Univ. of Hamburg, Germany: Ultrafast electronic dynamics in solids

- Ulf Zastrau, Univ. of Jena, Germany: Matter under extreme conditions
Download (75 KB)
(75 KB)
Link UXSS 2015
NCCR MUST Office : ETHZ IQE/ULP-HPT H3 | Auguste-Piccard-Hof 1 | 8093 Zurich | E-Mail
The National Centres of Competence in Research (NCCR) are a research instrument of the Swiss National Science Foundation