Ursula Keller wins “Swiss Nobel” Marcel Benoist Prize- for pioneering work in ultrafast lasers
MUST2022 Conference- a great success!
New scientific highlights- by MUST PIs Wörner, Chergui, and Richardson
FELs of Europe prize for Jeremy Rouxel- “Development or innovative use of advanced instrumentation in the field of FELs”
Ruth Signorell wins Doron prizefor pioneering contributions to the field of fundamental aerosol science
New FAST-Fellow Uwe Thumm at ETH- lectures on Topics in Femto- and Attosecond Science
International Day of Women and Girls in Science- SSPh asked female scientists about their experiences
New scientific highlight- by MUST PIs Milne, Standfuss and Schertler
EU XFEL Young Scientist Award for Camila Bacellar,beamline scientist and group leader of the Alvra endstation at SwissFEL
Prizes for Giulia Mancini and Rebeca Gomez CastilloICO/IUPAP Young Scientist Prize in Optics & Ernst Haber 2021
Nobel Prize in Chemistry awarded to RESOLV Member Benjamin List- for the development of asymmetric organocatalysis
NCCR MUST at Scientifica 2021- Lightning, organic solar cells, and virtual molecules

Ultrafast Dynamics at the Nanoscale 2016

Date Fr, 13.05.2016 - Mo, 16.05.2016
Time All day
Location OIST Main Campus, Okinawa Institute of Science and Technology Graduate University
Program Over the past decade, technological and scientific developments in ultrafast science have led to cutting edge, invigorating new areas in condensed matter physics at the nano-, femto-scale. Building on the success of UDN 2014, the second edition of this symposium will bring together leading researchers in the world in the broadly described areas of ultrafast dynamics at the nanoscale; and provide an intimate setting for the exchange of ideas and technologies in the field.

The meeting will also highlight related research at OIST in the Femtosecond Spectroscopy Unit, where sophisticated laboratories have been built utilizing a variety of techniques in ultrafast spectroscopy, applied to a variety of fields.

Lastly, the meeting will also showcase the philosophy and development of OIST – an international university established in 2011 in Japan, with English as medium of instruction, and interdisciplinary research and education at its core.

Keshav M. Dani (OIST, Japan)
Hrvoje Petek (University of Pittsburgh, USA)
Junichiro Kono (Rice University, USA)

Invited Speakers

Javier García de Abajo (ICFO, Spain)
Tony Heinz (Stanford University, USA)
Rupert Huber (University of Regensburg, Germany)
Ursula Keller (ETH, Switzerland)
Kuniaki Konishi (The University of Tokyo, Japan)
Alfred Leitenstorfer (Konstanz University, Germany)
Elaine Li (University of Texas-Austin, USA)
Kaihui Liu (Peking University, China)
Eric Potma (UC Irvine, USA)
Yuen-Ron Shen (UC Berkeley/Fudan University, USA/China)
Christopher Stanton (University of Florida, USA)
Toni Taylor (LANL, USA)
Ulrike K. Woggon (Technical University of Berlin, Germany)
Martin Wolf (Fritz Haber Institute, Germany)
Yoshihisa Yamamoto (Stanford University, USA)
Contributed Talks & Poster Session

In addition to the invited talks, the workshop will also showcase a select number of contributed talks and posters from researchers in the early stages of their career – graduate students to postdocs to assistant professors, as part of the main program. Scientists from Japan as well as abroad are encouraged to apply. For the selected abstracts, UDN will provide economy class, round trip flights from their home institution, accommodation and meals during the period of the conference. Interested researchers are encouraged to apply by submitting an extended CV (limited to three pages) and a one-page abstract below.

OIST is deeply committed to the advancement of women in science, in Japan and worldwide, and encourages them to apply.
Download (75 KB)
(75 KB)
Link Ultrafast Dynamics at the Nanoscale 2016
NCCR MUST Office : ETHZ IQE/ULP-HPT H3 | Auguste-Piccard-Hof 1 | 8093 Zurich | E-Mail
The National Centres of Competence in Research (NCCR) are a research instrument of the Swiss National Science Foundation