Ursula Keller wins “Swiss Nobel” Marcel Benoist Prize- for pioneering work in ultrafast lasers
MUST2022 Conference- a great success!
New scientific highlights- by MUST PIs Wörner, Chergui, and Richardson
FELs of Europe prize for Jeremy Rouxel- “Development or innovative use of advanced instrumentation in the field of FELs”
Ruth Signorell wins Doron prizefor pioneering contributions to the field of fundamental aerosol science
New FAST-Fellow Uwe Thumm at ETH- lectures on Topics in Femto- and Attosecond Science
International Day of Women and Girls in Science- SSPh asked female scientists about their experiences
New scientific highlight- by MUST PIs Milne, Standfuss and Schertler
EU XFEL Young Scientist Award for Camila Bacellar,beamline scientist and group leader of the Alvra endstation at SwissFEL
Prizes for Giulia Mancini and Rebeca Gomez CastilloICO/IUPAP Young Scientist Prize in Optics & Ernst Haber 2021
Nobel Prize in Chemistry awarded to RESOLV Member Benjamin List- for the development of asymmetric organocatalysis
NCCR MUST at Scientifica 2021- Lightning, organic solar cells, and virtual molecules

Quantum Nano-Photonics

Date Do, 20.07.2017 - Fr, 04.08.2017
Location Erice, Italy
Program The International School of Atomic and Molecular Spectroscopy of the Ettore Majorana Center is organizing a NATO Advanced Study Institute.

The general aim of this Institute will be to bring together more closely researchers working in the two fields of quantum optics and nano-optics to provide a general overview of the main topics of interest in applied and fundamental research. The Institute will, for example cover single-photon emitters and emitters of entangled photon pairs based on epitaxially grown semiconductor quantum dots, nitrogen vacancy centers in diamond as single-photon emitters, coupled quantum bits based on trapped ions, integrated waveguide superconducting nanowire single-photon detectors, quantum nano-plasmonics, nanosensing, quantum aspects of biophotonics and quantum metamaterials. The lectures shall span the bridge from pedagogical introductions into the fundamental principles to the current state-of-the-art given by pioneers and leaders in the field. Numerical simulations will be also presented as a powerful tool to gain insight into the physical behavior of nanophotonic systems and provide a critical complement to experimental investigations and design of devices.

The participants will have the opportunity to interact with each other in a stimulating atmosphere and to present their research work in the form of short seminars or posters.

Javier Aizpurua, CSIC/DIPC, San Sebastian, SPAIN
Steve Arnold, Polytechnic Institute of NYU, Brooklyn, NY, USA
Rolindes Balda, University of the Basque Country, Bilbao, SPAIN
Oliver Benson, Humboldt Universität Berlin, GERMANY
Marco Bettinelli, University of Verona, Verona, ITALY
Rainer Blatt, University of Innsbruck, AUSTRIA
John Bowen, The University of Reading, Reading, UK
Joshua Caldwell, US Naval Research Lab,Washington, DC, USA
John Collins, Wheaton College, Norton, MA, USA
Paul Corkum, University of Ottawa, Ottawa, CANADA
Baldassare Di Bartolo, Boston College, Chestnut Hill, MA, USA
Joaquín Fernández, University of the Basque Country, Bilbao, SPAIN.
Sergey Gaponenko, National Academy of Sciences, Minsk, BELARUS
Eric Mazur, Harvard University, Cambridge, MA, USA
Lukas Novotny, ETH, Zurich, SWITZERLAND
Wolfram Pernice, University Münster, GERMANY
Fabrizio Pinto, Izmir University of Economics, Izmir, TURKEY
Lora Ramunno, University of Ottawa, Ottawa, CANADA
Mark I. Stockman, Georgia State University, Atlanta, GA, USA
Martin Wegener, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT), Karlsruhe, GERMANY
Jean-Pierre Wolf, Université de Gèneve, Gèneve, SWITZERLAND
Vanessa Wood, ETH Zurich, SWITZERLAND
Download (75 KB)
(75 KB)
NCCR MUST Office : ETHZ IQE/ULP-HPT H3 | Auguste-Piccard-Hof 1 | 8093 Zurich | E-Mail
The National Centres of Competence in Research (NCCR) are a research instrument of the Swiss National Science Foundation