Ursula Keller wins “Swiss Nobel” Marcel Benoist Prize- for pioneering work in ultrafast lasers
MUST2022 Conference- a great success!
New scientific highlights- by MUST PIs Wörner, Chergui, and Richardson
FELs of Europe prize for Jeremy Rouxel- “Development or innovative use of advanced instrumentation in the field of FELs”
Ruth Signorell wins Doron prizefor pioneering contributions to the field of fundamental aerosol science
New FAST-Fellow Uwe Thumm at ETH- lectures on Topics in Femto- and Attosecond Science
International Day of Women and Girls in Science- SSPh asked female scientists about their experiences
New scientific highlight- by MUST PIs Milne, Standfuss and Schertler
EU XFEL Young Scientist Award for Camila Bacellar,beamline scientist and group leader of the Alvra endstation at SwissFEL
Prizes for Giulia Mancini and Rebeca Gomez CastilloICO/IUPAP Young Scientist Prize in Optics & Ernst Haber 2021
Nobel Prize in Chemistry awarded to RESOLV Member Benjamin List- for the development of asymmetric organocatalysis
NCCR MUST at Scientifica 2021- Lightning, organic solar cells, and virtual molecules

Recent Developments in Rydberg State Formation via Frustrated Tunnel Ionization

Date Mo, 20.05.2019 - Mo, 20.05.2019
Time 16:45h
Speaker Dr. Alexandra Landsman
Location ETHZ, Hönggerberg Campus, HPF G-6
The process of Rydberg state formation through frustrated tunnel ionization has attracted much interest over the past decade, with recentexperiments demonstrating that it can even be used as a new source for coherent extreme-ultraviolet (XUV) emission [1]. Here we discuss some recent theoretical developments [2,3], focusing on two aspects: (i) How Rydberg states can be used as an independent test for non-adiabaticity in strong field ionization; (ii) Control of quantum number distribution of Rydberg states using laser parameters. The resulting implications for coherent XUV emission will also be addressed.

[1] H. Yun, et al, Nature Photonics 12, 620, 2018
[2] L. Ortman, C. Hofmann, A.S. Landsman, PRA 98(3), 2018
[3] L. Ortmann, C. Hofmann, A.S. Landsman, arXiv:1810.07164
Download (75 KB)
(75 KB)
Link 2Lau'seq%rSn5emy'ine6are9@Ff0aso4tLq4abd
NCCR MUST Office : ETHZ IQE/ULP-HPT H3 | Auguste-Piccard-Hof 1 | 8093 Zurich | E-Mail
The National Centres of Competence in Research (NCCR) are a research instrument of the Swiss National Science Foundation