Forthcoming Events

07.06.2022 - 10.06.2022, Grindelwald, Switzerland
27.06.2022 - 29.06.2022, University College London, UK
11.07.2022 - 15.07.2022, Celeste Hotel, on UCF main campus, Orlando, Florida


Nobel Prize in Chemistry awarded to RESOLV Member Benjamin List- for the development of asymmetric organocatalysis
NCCR MUST at Scientifica 2021- Lightning, organic solar cells, and virtual molecules
#NCCRWomen- NCCR MUST celebrates 50 years women’s right to vote in Switzerland
Kick-Off dynaMENT Mentoring for Women in Natural Sciences- with Ursula Keller as plenary speaker
Four new scientific highlights- by MUST PIs Chergui / Milne / Beaud / Staub, by Wolf / Röthlisberger, by Wörner, and Keller
Photon Science Roadmap- for Research Infrastructures 2025-2028 by the Swiss Photon Community
Proof of concept ERC Grant for Ursula Keller Dual-comb laser driven terahertz spectrometer for industrial sensing (DC-THz)
Majed Chergui - elected to the European Academy of Sciences
Ruth Signorell - elected to the European Academy of Sciences
Farewell and Welcome!Chris Milne leaves for the European XFEL, Camila Bacellar takes over

Research publications 2020 A - L

back <<

Ahlawat, P., Dar, M.I., Piaggi, P., Grätzel, M., Parrinello, M., and Röthlisberger, U. (2020). Atomistic Mechanism of the Nucleation of Methylammonium Lead Iodide Perovskite from Solution. Chem Mater 32, 529-536. (10.1021/acs.chemmater.9b04259)

Bacellar, C., Kinschel, D., Mancini, G.F., Ingle, R.A., Rouxel, J., Cannelli, O., Cirelli, C., Knopp, G., Szlachetko, J., Lima, F.A., Menzi, S., Pamfilidis, G., Kubicek, K., Khakhulin, D., Gawelda, W., Rodriguez-Fernandez, A., Biednov, M., Bressler, C., Arrell, C.A., Johnson, P.J.M., Milne, C.J., and Chergui, M. (2020). Spin cascade and doming in ferric hemes: Femtosecond X-ray absorption and X-ray emission studies. Proc Natl Acad Sci USA 117, 21914. (

Baldini, E., Palmieri, T., Dominguez, A., Rubio, A., and Chergui, M. (2020a). Giant Exciton Mott Density in Anatase TiO2. PhysRev Lett 125, 116403. (10.1103/PhysRevLett.125.116403)

Baldini, E., Sentef, M.A., Acharya, S., Brumme, T., Sheveleva, E., Lyzwa, F., Pomjakushina, E., Bernhard, C., Schilfgaarde, M.v., Carbone, F., Rubio, A., and Weber, C. (2020b). Electron-Phonon-Driven Three-Dimensional Metallicity in an Insulating Cuprate. Proc Natl Acad Sci USA 117, 6409-6416 (10.1073/pnas.1919451117)

Bircher, M.P., and Röthlisberger, U. (2020). From a week to less than a day: Speedup and scaling of coordinate-scaled exact exchange calculations in plane waves. Computer Phys Commun 247, 106943 (10.1016/j.cpc.2019.106943)

Boziki, A., Kubicki, D.J., Mishra, A., Meloni, S., Emsley, L., Grätzel, M., and Röthlisberger, U. (2020). Atomistic Origins of the Limited Phase Stability of Cs+-Rich FAxCs(1–x)PbI3 Mixtures. Chem Mater 32, 2605-2614 (10.1021/acs.chemmater.0c00120)

Brauer, J.C., Tsokkou, D., Sanchez, S., Droseros, N., Roose, B., Mosconi, E., Hua, X., Stolterfoht, M., Neher, D., Steiner, U., De Angelis, F., Abate, A., and Banerji, N. (2020). Comparing the excited-state properties of a mixed-cation–mixed-halide perovskite to methylammonium lead iodide. J Chem Phys 152, 104703 (10.1063/1.5133021)

Fang, W., Zarotiadis, R.A., and Richardson, J.O. (2020). Revisiting nuclear tunnelling in the aqueous ferrous–ferric electron transfer. Phys Chem Chem Phys 2020, 214101. (10.1039/C9CP06841D)

Fuchs, J., Douguet, N., Donsa, S., Martin, F., Burgdörfer, J., Argenti, L., Cattaneo, L., and Keller, U. (2020). Time delays from one-photon transitions in the continuum. Optica 7, 154-161 (10.1364/OPTICA.378639)

Golubev, N.V., Begušić, T., and Vaníček, J. (2020). On-the-Fly Ab Initio Semiclassical Evaluation of Electronic Coherences in Polyatomic Molecules Reveals a Simple Mechanism of Decoherence. Phys Rev Lett 125, 083001 (10.1103/PhysRevLett.125.083001)

Heller, E.R., and Richardson, J.O. (2020). Instanton formulation of Fermi’s golden rule in the Marcus inverted regime. J Chem Phys 152, 034106 (10.1063/1.5137823)

Hengsberger, M., Leuenberger, D., Schuler, A., Roth, S., and Muntwiler, M. (2020). Dynamics of excited interlayer states in hexagonal boron nitride monolayers. J Phys D: Appl Phys 53, 203001 (10.1088/1361-6463/ab70c6)

Hong, L., Milic, J.V., Ahlawat, P., Mladenovic, M., Kubicki, D.J., Jahanabkhshi, F., Ren, D., Gelvez-Rueda, M.C., Ruiz-Preciado, M.A., Ummadisingu, A., Liu, Y.H., Tian, C.B., Pan, L.F., Zakeeruddin, S.M., Hagfeldt, A., Grozema, F.C., Röthlisberger, U., Emsley, L., Han, H.W., and Grätzel, M. (2020). Guanine-Stabilized Formamidinium Lead Iodide Perovskites. Angew Chem Int Ed 59, 4691-4697 (10.1002/anie.201912051)

Jordan, I., Huppert, M., Rattenbacher, D., Peper, M., Jelovina, D., Perry, C., von Conta, A., Schild, A., and Wörner, H.J. (2020). Attosecond spectroscopy of liquid water. Science 369, 974 (

Käser, S., Unke, O.T., and Meuwly, M. (2020). Reactive Dynamics and Spectroscopy of Hydrogen Transfer from Neural Network-Based Reactive Potential Energy Surfaces. New J Phys, 1911.09475 (

Kilin, V., Campargue, G., Fureraj, I., Sakong, S., Sabri, T., Riporto, F., Vieren, A., Mugnier, Y., Mas, C., Staedler, D., Collins, J.M., Bonacina, L., Vogel, A., Capobianco, J.A., and Wolf, J.-P. (2020). Wavelength-Selective Nonlinear Imaging and Photo-Induced Cell Damage by Dielectric Harmonic Nanoparticles. ACS Nano 14, 4087-4095 (10.1021/acsnano.9b08813)

Kinschel, D., Bacellar, C., Cannelli, O., Sorokin, B., Katayama, T., Mancini, G.F., Rouxel, J.R., Obara, Y., Nishitani, J., Ito, H., Ito, T., Kurahashi, N., Higashimura, C., Kudo, S., Keane, T., Lima, F.A., Gawelda, W., Zalden, P., Schulz, S., Budarz, J.M., Khakhulin, D., Galler, A., Bressler, C., Milne, C.J., Penfold, T., Yabashi, M., Suzuki, T., Misawa, K., and Chergui, M. (2020). Femtosecond X-ray emission study of the spin cross-over dynamics in haem proteins. Nature Commun 11, 4145 (10.1038/s41467-020-17923-w)

Krauspe, P., Banerji, N., and Rehault, J. (2020). Effective detection of weak terahertz pulses in electro-optic sampling at kilohertz repetition rate. JOSA B - Opt Phys 37, 127-132. (10.1364/JOSAB.37.000127)
NCCR MUST Office : ETHZ IQE/ULP-HPT H3 | Auguste-Piccard-Hof 1 | 8093 Zurich | E-Mail | +41 44 633 36 02
The National Centres of Competence in Research (NCCR) are a research instrument of the Swiss National Science Foundation