Ursula Keller wins “Swiss Nobel” Marcel Benoist Prize- for pioneering work in ultrafast lasers
MUST2022 Conference- a great success!
New scientific highlights- by MUST PIs Wörner, Chergui, and Richardson
FELs of Europe prize for Jeremy Rouxel- “Development or innovative use of advanced instrumentation in the field of FELs”
Ruth Signorell wins Doron prizefor pioneering contributions to the field of fundamental aerosol science
New FAST-Fellow Uwe Thumm at ETH- lectures on Topics in Femto- and Attosecond Science
International Day of Women and Girls in Science- SSPh asked female scientists about their experiences
New scientific highlight- by MUST PIs Milne, Standfuss and Schertler
EU XFEL Young Scientist Award for Camila Bacellar,beamline scientist and group leader of the Alvra endstation at SwissFEL
Prizes for Giulia Mancini and Rebeca Gomez CastilloICO/IUPAP Young Scientist Prize in Optics & Ernst Haber 2021
Nobel Prize in Chemistry awarded to RESOLV Member Benjamin List- for the development of asymmetric organocatalysis
NCCR MUST at Scientifica 2021- Lightning, organic solar cells, and virtual molecules

Ambizione Award Winners

Ambizione grants are aimed at young researchers who wish to conduct, manage and lead an independent project at a Swiss higher education institution. The funding scheme would like to promote qualified researchers from Switzerland as well as excellent researchers from abroad. In addition, researchers working as non-professorial teaching staff at higher education institutions are entitled to apply for project funds under Ambizione. It is a very competitive award with only 17% of applications in 2016 being awarded an Ambizione.
  • Elsa Abreu, hosted Steve Johnson's group, won Ambizione in 2018 with her research idea on "Exploring superconductivity pathways in low dimensional spin-ladder and spin-chain compounds" the prestigous Ambizione grant. The goal of this project is to identify, characterize and exploit the control knob that enables unlocking and tuning of the superconducting state in spin ladder compounds.
  • Dmitry Momotenko, who received his PhD in the group of Hubert Girault at the EPF Lausanne, will join Physical Chemistry at the ETH Zürich, and work on "Single Entities at High Magnification: Mapping, Measuring and Manipulating Nanoparticles" (2017-2020). He currently works at the University of Warwick.
  • Arianna Marchioro will work on "Understanding Photoinduced Processes at Semiconductor/Aqueous Interfaces by Surface-Specific Spectroscopic Techniques" (2017-2020).  She did her PhD in the group of Jacques Moser, and worked as a PostDoc at the University of Washington, before returning to the EPFL. She will be hosted by Prof. Silvie Roke in Physical Chemistry (EPF Lausanne).
  • Axel Schild will be hosted by Hans Jakob Wörner at Physical Chemistry (ETH Zürich), where he currently works as a PostDoc. His topic will be attosecond theory, specifally "Exact Factorization Approach to the Dynamics of Molecules in Strong Laser Fields" (2017-2021). The project is based on an exact single-electron description of the many-electron dynamics in molecules. Often, theoretical models in strong field physics rely on the single-active electron assumption, where the dynamics of only a single electron is considered and electron-electron interaction is (partially) neglected. However, it was shown that the full many-electron dynamics can be represented by a single-electron Schrödinger equation (doi:10.1103/PhysRevLett.118.163202). This opens up a new possibility to include many-electron effects in theory and computation.
  • Rajaswari Jayaraman will be developing a variety of innovative magnetic materials with several geometric patterns on the surface, with the purpose of creating new artificial spin-based (magnon) behaviors for novel memory technologies. “Real time magnon dynamics for next generation magnonic devices” (2016-2018).
  • Natalie Banerji worked on "Conjugated Donor-Acceptor Copolymers: Understanding Their Optoelectronic Functioning in Organic Solar Cells" (2012-2014), and was hosted by Jacques Moser at the EPFL. After three years as an Associate Professor at the Université de Fribourg she moved to the University of Bern as a Full Professor in Chemistry. She also received an ERC Starting Grant in 2017.
  • Hirofumi Yanagisawa (2010-2014) worked on "Spatio-temporal Control of Coherent Electron Emission", and was hosted by Jürg Osterwalder (Universität Zürich) and Ursula Keller (ETH Zürich). He is now a PostDoc at the Max Planck Institute of Quantum Optics.
  • Fabrizio Carbone (2009-2010) "Real-time structural investigation of superconductors".
NCCR MUST Office : ETHZ IQE/ULP-HPT H3 | Auguste-Piccard-Hof 1 | 8093 Zurich | E-Mail
The National Centres of Competence in Research (NCCR) are a research instrument of the Swiss National Science Foundation