Ursula Keller wins “Swiss Nobel” Marcel Benoist Prize- for pioneering work in ultrafast lasers
MUST2022 Conference- a great success!
New scientific highlights- by MUST PIs Wörner, Chergui, and Richardson
FELs of Europe prize for Jeremy Rouxel- “Development or innovative use of advanced instrumentation in the field of FELs”
Ruth Signorell wins Doron prizefor pioneering contributions to the field of fundamental aerosol science
New FAST-Fellow Uwe Thumm at ETH- lectures on Topics in Femto- and Attosecond Science
International Day of Women and Girls in Science- SSPh asked female scientists about their experiences
New scientific highlight- by MUST PIs Milne, Standfuss and Schertler
EU XFEL Young Scientist Award for Camila Bacellar,beamline scientist and group leader of the Alvra endstation at SwissFEL
Prizes for Giulia Mancini and Rebeca Gomez CastilloICO/IUPAP Young Scientist Prize in Optics & Ernst Haber 2021
Nobel Prize in Chemistry awarded to RESOLV Member Benjamin List- for the development of asymmetric organocatalysis
NCCR MUST at Scientifica 2021- Lightning, organic solar cells, and virtual molecules

Principal Investigators

Institute  Principal Investigator    Research topic  
MUST PIs    
ETHZ Ursula Keller (Director)
Jeremy Richardson
Hans Jakob Wörner
Manfred Fiebig
Ruth Signorell
Daniela Rupp
Ultrafast Laser Physics
Simulating ultrafast processes in molecular systems
Ultrafast Spectroscopy and Attosecond Science
Multifunctional ferroic materials
Aerosols and Nanoscience
Nanostructures and Ultrafast X-Ray Science
ETHZ/PSI Steve Johnson Ultrafast Dynamics
UniBE  Thomas Feurer (Co-Director)
Andrea Cannizzo
Natalie Banerji

Robert Häner
Linear and Nonlinear THz Science

Ultrafast Molecular Spectroscopy
Femtosecond Spectroscopy of Organic Electronic Materials
Supramolecular Polymers
UniBE/PSI Adrian Cavalieri Laboratory for Non-Linear Optics
PSI  Paul Beaud
Urs Staub
Chris Milne
Camila Bacellar
Jörg Standfuss
Femtosecond X-rays
Microscopy and Magnetism
SwissFEL (from Dec. 2020 at European XFEL)
Laboratory of Biomolecular Research
EPFL Majed Chergui
Fabrizio Carbone
Jacques - E. Moser
Ursula Röthlisberger
Jiri Vaníček 
Ultrafast Spectroscopy
Ultrafast Microscopy and Electron Scattering
Photochemical Dynamics
Computational Chemistry and Biochemistry
Theoretical Physical Chemistry
EPFL/PSI Christoph Bostedt Laboratory for Femtochemistry (LSF)
UniZH  Peter Hamm
Jürg Osterwalder
Ultrafast Molecular Dynamics
Surface Physics
UniBA  Markus Meuwly  Theoretical Chemistry
UniGE  Jean-Pierre Wolf  GAP Biophotonics
Junior PIs    
Uni Bern André Stefanov Quantum Optics
EPFL Ulrich Lorenz Molecular nanodynamics
FAST PIs    
ETHZ Rachel Grange
Jochen Maurer
Optical Nanomaterials
Atomic H-target development
ETHZ/PSI Gebhard Schertler Laboratory of Biomolecular Research
UniBE Silvio Decurtins New Materials
Phase I / II PIs    
ETHZ/PSI Jeroen van Bokhoven Heterogenous Catalysis
UniNE Thomas Südmeyer Time and Frequency
PSI  Bruce Patterson
Rafael Abela
Thomas Gerber
Hans Sigg
Aldo Antognini (FAST)
Molecular Dynamics
Quantum Technologies Group
Precision Physics at Low Energy
UniGE  Eric Vauthey  Ultrafast Photochemistry
UniZH Matthias Hengsberger Surface Physics
EPFL  Hubert Girault  Physical and Analytical Electrochemistry

Leading houses: ETH Zürich and Universität Bern
NCCR MUST Office : ETHZ IQE/ULP-HPT H3 | Auguste-Piccard-Hof 1 | 8093 Zurich | E-Mail
The National Centres of Competence in Research (NCCR) are a research instrument of the Swiss National Science Foundation